Tempo Run Tuesday


RuntoBeAlready into week 3 of training for the several half marathons I have at the end of the year.  First up on the schedule is Rock & Roll Philadelphia on September 15.  Although training is underway, this particular event is just for fun really.  I wanted to visit my sister in PA and figured why not visit when I can run a race I have been wanting to run.  As such, there are no real goals for this race other than finishing: without injury!!

In any case, it is a stop on my way to my real goals for the end of the year:  Finish San Fran Nike Women’s Half Marathon in under 2:30 (hills and all) and my big running goal is finishing St Pete Women’s Running Series Half Marathon in a PR of under 2:15.  Today I trained with that in mind.

Just a short tempo run at race pace: 2 miles at 10/mile was the target.  I finished with 10:03/mile average over 2.2 miles.  I am happy with that.  I actually could have kept going, but training for this race is, like the race itself, a marathon not a sprint.  I am not risking injury by pushing too hard, too fast.  A 2 mile tempo run was on the schedule for tomorrow, but I needed the cardio workout today (stress/work related).  I decided to swap today’s strength training with my tempo run and get my strength training in tomorrow.  (Actually, I think I like the idea of Tempo Run Tuesday so I might switch these days permanently!!)

That is it for now.  Remember, I am running San Fran (with all those incredible hills) as a fundraiser for The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society with Team in Training.  Please consider supporting my efforts with a donation.  You can make a tax-deductible donation on my personal (and secure) website: Making it Count, NWM 2013.