Weekend Training Update


snooze-300x210Those of you who also train for endurance events know what it is like when that alarm starts to chime, or ring, or buzz at 5am on a Saturday morning.  When the rest of the world is resting on a Saturday morning (at least those not working on Saturdays), or even when some of your friends are making their way home from a Friday Night on the town, you are slamming your hand down on the snooze button hoping for just a few more moments of rest before you have to get up and train.

After a few moments of laying there working out a plan in my head to sleep in then get up early the next morning to run, I remembered my teammates.  They were getting up too.  They were preparing for a nice 7 mile run in the heat and humidity of our lovely South Florida.  Even though I don’t drive to the team meet-up to join them, I still get up and run at the same time as they do.  I think of them running along side me even when we are in separate counties.

Up and out of bed!  The first stop was my fridge for the EnergyBits to get me going.  Since there was 7 miles on the menu this morning, I drank a shake (not for the protein but for the calories – EnergyBits has more than enough protein for me).  After dressing for the heat and wrapping my left heel with KT tape, I laced up and was out the door.  In just 20 minutes I went from dragging out of bed to dancing down the walkway waiting for my Garmin to catch the satellite.

With an additional supply of EnergyBits as my mid-run fuel I was off.  Target 7 miles.

Luckily I live in an area with plenty of parks.  I have a constant supply of water fountains so I don’t need to carry fluids with me.  I drink extra electrolytes before I go and when I return to keep from having to carry a water bottle with me.  Just over the halfway mark, 4.2 miles, I decided to take advantage of one of those water fountains to take my mid run fuel – more EnergyBits.  I would not normally need it at that time, but with the heat (and humidity) I generally get drained of energy more quickly.

I finished off the run without incident.  Steady and consistent.  In comparison to the previous week, this was a huge improvement.  Granted, I did not have my upstairs neighbor partying the night before keeping me from sleeping.  But, I like to think it was more than just an extra hour or two of sleep.

Andi Mucklow postcard backYou see, I have been taking EnergyBits regularly for the last week.  Slowly noticing improvements in everything I do (not just with my workouts).  As an all natural FOOD (100% natural organic green algae) with a high density of protein and 40 vitamins/minerals, this little wonder has been improving my health slowly over the last week.  So much so I was able to muscle through the 7 miles without feeling drained of all energy.  In fact, I even walked another two miles while running errands shortly after my run was completed.

If you have not heard of these tiny bits of energy, check out their website for more information.  I will be writing a bit more about the bits in the coming weeks (I might even work in a give-a-way).  For now, know this is a healthy way to fuel your workout.  If you have specific questions you can feel free to comment with your questions and I will do my best to answer.

If you are interested in trying EnergyBits, you can use my discount code ANDI at checkout to receive a 30% discount on your order.  From my personal experience so far, I can’t see how anyone would be disappointed.