Leg Workout + Hill Workout = PAIN

quote-of-the-day-april-07-2013This post is really meant as a NOTE TO SELF.  A reminder, if you will…  Never, EVER, schedule a LEG DAY before a HILL DAY.  Only one word describes my status right now: OUCH!!  Even though it really only hurts when I squat, let’s face it… as a woman I squat a lot (whenever I sit or pee – or both!).

Wednesday I decided I needed a day off from running.  My calves and shins were aching and that is generally a good sign.  As I need something to occupy my mind like I was actually running, I choose to add strength training back into my workout.  Yes, I know I never should have let it go, but…. such as life, lessons learned.

It was a simple workout really, just the legs (and a few ab excercises).  You know the usual suspects – Leg Press, Calve Press, Shin Stretches, Leg Curls, Squats, Lunges…  All with weight (except the lunges).  Felt great.  And no sore or tenderness afterward.

Even Thursday when I woke up I did not have soreness or tenderness from the workout.  Almost made me think I did not push hard enough.  I had 4 miles scheduled for Thursday, so rather than chance what looked to be a crazy storm heading my way, I opted for the treadmill.  There are few things I like about a treadmill training; but it is a necessary evil.  Since I am a South Florida girl training for a run in the San Francisco hills, the treadmill is really my only option for running on an incline.  Where I live, there are few options for bridges that would be safe for running repeats.  So, treadmill it is!

NikePlusBeing stuck inside running, with nothing but a view of the pool I wish I was swimming in, is the most boring workout I can think of.  At least I don’t have to battle heat and humidity while at it.  I set the incline at 1 for a warm up and by half a mile in I was up to 2.0.  For a few brief intervals I raised the incline to 3.o (I am heading to San Francisco – those are big hills to climb!) then back down to 2.0.  Toward the end of my 4 miles I even attempted a 1 min sprint up 4.o incline.  By the way, there is nothing about THIS GIRL sprinting up that much of an incline.  I just kept saying to myself – Only 60 seconds up, Only 45 Seconds up, Only 15 seconds to go…  Whew, that hurt.

All in all, I feel great and I know I had a SOLID workout: 3.84 miles, with incline, age pace 10:45.  Yes, the pace is slower than I would like for a FLAT run, but for hills I will take it.  Slow and Steady will be the motto for San Fran this year.  (Last year it was slow and slower!!)

Again, this is a good kind of pain, if there is such a thing.  I like to know I did something that is actually working on my muscles – apparently I succeeded with these back to back workouts.

Needless to say, I was rockin’ my EnergyBits for both workouts.  I am telling you guys, these things are the best bits around.  I love the organic energy I get from just one serving.  I am looking forward to a strong long run tomorrow.  Of course, after a nice REST DAY today!

 

Leave a comment